EMMC Organisation


President & Board of Directors (BoD)

Nadja Adamovic
President, BoD
TU Wien

Dr. Nadja Adamovic has experience in material modelling, characterisation and process development in particular for photovoltaic applications and physical microsensors. Since 1994, she is employed at the TU Wien as senior scientist. Nadja was a coordinator/manager and  Advisory Board member in several research projects.

Since 2014, Nadja was involved in the EMMC as Chair and member of the Organisational Management Board. Within EMMC-CSA she was project Coordinator and  leader of Dissemination and Stakeholder Integration activities. She is one of the founders of EMMC ASBL and holds the role of EMMC ASBL President. She is also a member of the  Board of Directors.

Kersti Hermansson
Uppsala University

Kersti Hermansson is Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at Uppsala University. Her group conducts research on multi-scale modelling workflows to enable (adequately) accurate simulations for real-world chemical applications. The group has much experience with redox chemistry of nano-structured metal oxides, electrochemistry and fundamentals of water/solid interfaces, molecular diffusion and interactions in solids, and computational vibrational spectroscopies.

She is a Fellow of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (KVA) and author of more than 240 peer-reviewed papers. She is a member of the Board of Directors of the EMMC, and was a WP leader within the EC funded EMMC-CSA.

Denka Hristova-Bogaerds
DPI- Dutch Polymer Institute
The Netherlands

Denka Hristova-Bogaerds is a Program Area Coordinator at the Dutch Polymer Institute, where she is involved in the initiation and management of industry-driven research programs in the field of polymeric materials. She holds a PhD in Polymer Physics and has more than 20 years’ experience in research and management activities.
Denka has been involved in EMMC from its beginnings. In particular, she has taken a leading role in the EMMC efforts on Translation and establishing the role of Translator.

Since 2020 she serves on the Board of Directors of EMMC ASBL.

Jesper Friis
SINTEF Industry

Dr. Jesper Friis is a senior scientist at SINTEF in the group of Materials Physics with an associate position at Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU). An important part of his research has been on modelling of metallic alloys and solar cell silicon from the electronic to microstructure scale. The need for robust coupling of software models at different scales made him a central participant in the work conducted by EMMC on interoperability and the development of the European Materials & Modelling Ontology.

He is experienced in EU projects, both as coordinator and participant and has been an active contributor to EMMC since 2014. He serves now on the Board of Directors of EMMC ASBL.

Adham Hashibon
Fraunhofer IWM

Adham Hashibon received his PhD in 2002 in the field of Computational Physics and Materials Science.

He is the leader of the Materials Informatics Team at Fraunhofer IWM that develops tools for interoperability, ontology, digitalisation and multiscale and multi-model coupling and linking workflows including the SimPhoNy open simulation platform, data space management systems and business decision support systems.

He serves as a coordinator and partner in a number of EU funded projects. He is an active member of the management board of the EMMC since 2014 and is one of the founders of EMMC ASBL and serves on the Board of Directors.

Erich Wimmer
BoD, Co-Chair
Materials Design S.A.R.L.

Erich Wimmer is co-founder and Chief Scientific Officer of Materials Design, a company developing software and providing services for materials research. His experience includes the development of advanced computational methods, their integration in software platforms and their industrial deployment.

Dr. Wimmer is author and co-author of over 130 scientific publications and has given numerous lectures worldwide. Within the EC funded EMMC-CSA, he has been a work package leader and he serves on the Board of Directors of the EMMC ASBL as Co-Chair.

The Board of Directors is elected by the General Assembly.

Organisational Assembly - Chairs

Natalia Konchakova
Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht

Dr. Natalia Konchakova is a senior researcher at Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht, Germany. She works in the fields of materials modelling, simulation and characterization of lightweight metals, computation analysis of surface degradation due to corrosion and intensive mechanical loading, and investigation of Magnesium based materials for bio- and structural industrial applications.

In the frame of the EMMC activity, Natalia put her expertise in the development of European Materials Modelling Translation concept to increase the impact and industrial exploitation of materials modelling.

Franz Pirker
AC2T research GmbH

DI Franz Pirker, MSc is business development manager at AC2T research GmbH, Austria. He is responsible for, development of new business areas, the commercialization of IPRs and software and key accounting. Additionally, he coordinates the H2020 project
i-TRIBOMAT (www.i-tribomat.eu), an Open Innovation Test Bed for tribological materials characterization and upscaling. This project aims to set up new digital services and business models combining tribological characterization and materials up-scaling via modelling and simulation.

Within EMMC Franz brings in his expertise in development and commercialization of software models and products as well as setting up digital business models.

Ilian Todorov
United Kingdom

Prof. Ilian Todorov leads the Computational Chemistry group at STFC Daresbury Laboratory as Principal Scientific Officer.  With over 20 year’s experience in the field of HPC software engineering for materials modelling, he has led the UK flagship MD package, DL_POLY, and researched prospective materials for used nuclear fuel encapsulation with colleagues at Bristol, Sheffield and Queen Mary, London.  He is involved in a number of academic communities in the UK (CCP5, MCC, UKCOMES and RSE Association) and is partner in the EMMC related project VIMMP (H2020).

Ilian will support EMMC in bringing in his expertise and experience with best practices in research software engineering, academic and industry outreach, training and translation.

The Organisational Assembly Chairs are elected by the Organisational Assembly.

Executive Team

Gerhard Goldbeck
Executive Secretary
Goldbeck Consulting Ltd.
United Kingdom

Dr Gerhard Goldbeck has experience in a range of materials modelling topics including software development, management and marketing. In 2011 he formed Goldbeck Consulting Ltd, offering services focused on industrial impact.

Gerhard has been involved with the EMMC since its beginning in 2014, as a member of the Organisational Management Board and during the EMMC-CSA also as leader of the Work Package on Interoperability. He is one of the founders of EMMC ASBL and holds the role of Executive Secretary.

Ernst-Dieter Janotka

Ernst-Dieter Janotka, EU funding expert and senior EU project manager, gained experience in administrative and financial coordination within several European funded projects since 2002.
Since 2014 he was in charge of the administrative and financial coordination, communication and dissemination in the FP7-ITN “Simdalee2” and the H2020 project "EMMC-CSA - The European Materials Modelling Council" at TU Wien.

Within EMMC ASBL he is assistant to the Executive Secretary, being responsible for Administration, Events & Communication.

The Executive Team is appointed by the Board of Directors.
European Materials Modelling Council
Silversquare Stéphanie
Avenue Louise 54
1050 Brussels
CBE no: 0731 621 312